Blowpipe stock replacement surgery

I ordered a new blowpipe stock to replace the cracked one. It duly arrived today. Then came the scary bit: extracting the old stock and replacing it with the new indestructible plastic stock. Tools used:

  • liquid dish soap
  • nail file
  • hypodermic syringe

Next, fill the syringe with some soap. Prise open the grommet around the stock by wedging the tip of the nail file between the stock and grommet to create a gap to inject the soap. I went around the grommet injecting a tiny bit of soap. Finally I pressed hard against the stock to push it into the pipe bag. It popped out without much complaint.

Since the collar was already greased with soap, it was ready for me to insert the new stock and push it through until the grommet made a clear plop sound when it popped into the groove on the stock. Done!

I am now ready to get back on to the pipes!

Leave a comment